May 19, 2019
Richardson Auditorium

Derek Bermel sits at a desk with staff paper strewn about, looking thoughtful. Based on the beloved coming-of-age novel The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, Derek Bermel’s Mango Suite re-tells the story of young protagonist Esperanza Cordero, featuring soprano Mikaela Bennett. Three stirring works by Spanish composer Manuel de Falla with special guest flamenco dancer Griset Damas Roche bring the PSO season to a thrilling conclusion.

“Derek Bermel is the quintessential 21st-century musician… staggering eclecticism from a true musical renaissance man.” – Gramophone Magazine


Rossen Milanov, conductor
Mikaela Bennett, soprano
Griset Damas-Roche, flamenco dancer
Derek Bermel, guest composer

Derek BERMEL / Mango Suite*
FALLA / El Amor Brujo
FALLA / The Three Cornered Hat, Suite No. 1
FALLA / La vida breve, Spanish Dance No. 1

*Princeton Symphony Orchestra Co-Commission

A pre-concert talk with Rossen Milanov will take place at 3pm in Richardson Auditorium; free to ticket holders.

Soprano Mikaela Bennett close-up headshot Griset Damas-Roche